Samsara vs Geotab: Two Plan Structures, Neither With a Price on It
Both are quote-only, so the comparison has to be made on structure rather than price. The packaging tells you more about the fit than any sales deck will.
August 14, 2026 · 8 min read
Samsara and Geotab are the two names that survive most enterprise shortlists, and comparing them on price is impossible from public sources because neither publishes one. We read both plans pages on 18 September 2026 and found six named packages on one and two on the other, with no dollar figure on either. The market they are competing in is not small: the global fleet management market is projected to grow from USD 30.1 billion in 2026 to USD 122.3 billion by 2035.
What is public, and genuinely useful, is how each company packages the product. Packaging reveals who a vendor thinks its buyer is, and it predicts where the surprises land in month three.
The practical problem for a buyer is that both sales processes start with a demo rather than a number, so by the time a figure appears you have spent weeks and built internal expectations. The way to shorten that is to arrive already knowing which tier you need.
| Feature | Samsara | Geotab |
|---|---|---|
| Published price | None | None |
| Named plans | Six | Two, plus a legacy plan |
| Upfront hardware cost | Not stated | States none, included in subscription |
| Installation fee | Not stated | States none |
| Tier upgrade | Not stated | Self-serve, no hardware swap |
| Integrations claimed | Broad catalogue, TMS on Enterprise | 400 plus Marketplace integrations |
| Unpowered assets | Two dedicated packages | Asset trackers on the same platform |
| Contract term stated | No | No |
Read from each vendor’s own plans page on 18 September 2026. Not stated means the company makes no public claim either way, which is different from a no.
What Goes Wrong Between Demo and Invoice
Both sales motions start with a conversation, so the first real number arrives late. Three things cause most of the friction after that.
The first is tier discovery. A demo shows the product, not your plan, and features that impressed in the room routinely sit in a higher package. With six Samsara packages spanning safety and telematics separately, that risk is structurally larger than with two Geotab plans.
The second is hardware accounting. Geotab states plainly that devices carry no upfront cost and no installation fee because they live in the subscription. Samsara makes no such statement, which means hardware is a line item to ask about rather than assume.
The third is committed units. Per-vehicle pricing is normally struck on a committed count, so a fleet that shrinks mid-term keeps paying for trucks it no longer runs. On a long term that is a meaningful amount of money and it never appears in a feature comparison.
How Samsara Packages the Product
Samsara publishes six packages grouped under Safety, Telematics, and Trailers and Equipment. Safety Premier covers in-cab coaching, alerts and the safety inbox. Safety Enterprise adds thirty-plus risk detections with context and patterns, plus weather risk visibility and worker-safety tooling.
Telematics Premier is the location and health layer: real-time vehicle position, driver performance, idling and fuel spend, proactive maintenance. Telematics Enterprise adds AI insight across the fuel lifecycle and comprehensive TMS integrations.
The asset side splits into Standard Visibility, built around compact low-maintenance devices for recovery and inventory accuracy, and Advanced Tracking, which adds diagnostics, usage and health data and integrated trailer workflows.
That structure suits an operation that wants to buy safety and telematics as separate decisions, often on different timelines. It suits a buyer who wants one line item considerably less well.
How Geotab Packages the Product
Geotab publishes two plans under the heading flexible pricing for every fleet. The GO Core Plan is the entry level: live map, trip history and alerts, basic routing and dispatch, maintenance scheduling by odometer and engine hours, inspections and work orders, basic IFTA and fuel economy, MyGeotab dashboards and access to more than 400 Marketplace integrations.
The GO Plan is everything in Core plus advanced collision risk and AI safety scoring, full HOS and ELD with tachograph support, predictive maintenance and fault diagnostics, complete fuel and idling insight, EV analytics, sustainability and emissions reporting including CARB and ESG, advanced routing and video telematics.
Two tiers means the fitting question is binary, which is faster to decide and blunter if your needs straddle the line. The compensating move is the Marketplace, where a lot of specialised capability sits as a third-party add-on rather than a tier.
The One Commercial Claim That Separates Them
Geotab states that hardware is included in both plans, with no upfront device cost and no installation fee, and that upgrading from Core to Plan needs no hardware swap. That is a specific, checkable commitment about the shape of year one.
Samsara makes no equivalent public statement. Its plans page discusses hardware only as product links. Reported third-party figures put Samsara hardware between $99 and $548 per vehicle depending on whether dashcams are included, which is a wide enough range to change a business case on its own.
That does not make one cheaper. It makes one predictable before the conversation starts, and on a first deployment predictability has real value.
What Neither One Is Built For
Both price and think in vehicles. If most of what you need to locate has no engine and no ignition, both platforms sell you an add-on to a vehicle-first design at a per-unit cost anchored to the vehicle model.
Vendors built around unpowered assets lead with different specifications: multi-year batteries quoted at one fix a day, and tags that report through a cellular device you already own rather than gateways you mount. Asset-first platforms approach the same problem from that end, and the arithmetic is different enough to be worth pricing separately.
Decide Your Tier Before You Take the Demo
Write down whether your problem is driver safety, vehicle telematics, unpowered assets, or two of the three. On Samsara that maps to a named package, so you can ask for a quote on that package by name instead of being shown everything. On Geotab it reduces to whether you need ELD, video and EV analytics, which is the Core against Plan question.
Arriving with that answer turns a multi-week discovery into a pricing conversation, and it stops the demo from selling you a tier you did not need. For the wider field, our roundup of ten GPS tracking companies compared by what they actually track sets both in context, and what GPS tracking actually costs covers the recurring charges that decide year two.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Which is cheaper, Samsara or Geotab?
Neither publishes a rate, so an honest answer is not available from public sources. What is public is the hardware model, and there they differ sharply. Geotab states there is no upfront device cost and no installation fee because hardware sits inside the subscription. Samsara makes no equivalent statement either way, and third-party reports of Samsara hardware run from about $99 to $548 per vehicle.
How many plans does each company sell?
Samsara publishes six packages across three groups: Safety Premier, Safety Enterprise, Telematics Premier, Telematics Enterprise, Standard Visibility and Advanced Tracking. Geotab publishes two: the GO Core Plan and the GO Plan, with a legacy Base plan referenced for existing customers. Six tiers means more precise fitting and more chances to discover a feature you saw in the demo sits in a tier you did not buy.
Do either of them lock you into a contract?
Neither states a term on its plans page. Customers commonly report a three-year commitment on Samsara, which is the longest standard term among the major platforms, and Geotab's own FAQ points large fleets to a sales conversation with volume discounts and custom configurations. Get the term in writing before comparing monthly rates, because the term moves more money than the rate does.
Can I upgrade between tiers without new hardware?
Geotab says yes explicitly. Its FAQ states that moving from GO Core to GO Plan is requested from the MyGeotab portal with no hardware swap required. Samsara does not make an equivalent public statement, and because its packages split along a safety axis that involves cameras, a tier change there can genuinely mean new devices in vehicles.
Which one handles trailers and equipment better?
Both cover unpowered assets and both treat it as a separate product line. Samsara names it in the packaging with Standard Visibility and Advanced Tracking, and sells a dedicated unpowered asset gateway. Geotab runs asset trackers beside the GO device on the same platform. If unpowered assets are the majority of what you need to find, price that line separately before committing to a per-vehicle agreement.
Why does neither company publish pricing?
Both sell on negotiated agreements where the rate depends on fleet size, hardware mix, term and module selection, so a published number would anchor every negotiation. It is the market norm rather than an outlier: of seven fleet platforms we checked on 18 September 2026, only One Step GPS published a figure on its own site.