Skip to content
Mo’Saci Science
Head to head

Geotab vs Verizon Connect: Hardware Included Against Hardware Installed

Two platforms with almost identical feature sets and opposite positions on who pays to fit the device. That is the part of the deal you can actually compare.

August 21, 2026 · 8 min read

Geotab and Verizon Connect end up on the same shortlists and their feature grids are close enough that nothing on a comparison page separates them. Both run live tracking, driver behaviour, compliance, maintenance and asset coverage on a platform with a large add-on catalogue, in a market where fleet management spend is projected to grow from USD 30.1 billion in 2026 to USD 122.3 billion by 2035.

Neither publishes a price. We read both sets of pages on 18 September 2026 and found no rate, no contract term and no per-vehicle figure on either. What we did find is one genuine, checkable difference in how each company handles the cost of putting hardware in a vehicle, and on a first deployment that is frequently the larger number.

The practical problem is that a buyer cannot benchmark a quote against anything. Both processes open with a demo, both ask for fleet size before they say anything about money, and by the time a figure arrives you have spent weeks. Knowing where the hardware cost sits shortens that considerably.

Feature Geotab Verizon Connect
Published rate None None
Named plans GO Core, GO Plan None published
Upfront hardware cost States none, in subscription Not stated
Installation States no install fee Professional install costs extra
No-device option Not offered OEM integrations, over the air
Unpowered asset hardware Asset trackers, unspecified EAT wired, EAT-B battery
Integration ecosystem 400 plus Marketplace Add-ons by category
Free trial No No
 

Read from each vendor’s own pages on 18 September 2026. Not stated means the company makes no public claim either way, which is different from a no.

The Cost Nobody Quotes in the First Call

Installation is the line item that quietly decides a first-year budget. A wired telematics device in a commercial vehicle is a workshop job, the vehicle is off the road while it happens, and on a hundred-vehicle rollout the labour and downtime can rival the hardware.

Geotab addresses this head on. Its FAQ answers whether hardware is included in both plans with a yes, stating no upfront device cost and no installation fee, with the hardware sitting inside the subscription price. It also runs an installer certification programme and publishes installation documentation, which tells you the work is real even when the fee is not separate.

Verizon Connect takes the opposite approach and is unusually candid about it: its install FAQ states that self-installation is cheaper but riskier, and that professional installation comes at an extra cost. No figure is attached. Publishing that at all is more honest than most of this market manages, and it is a number to get in writing early.

The Escape Hatch Verizon Connect Has and Geotab Does Not

Verizon Connect sells hardware-free OEM integrations that activate tracking over the air with, in its own words, zero hardware installs and no vehicle installation downtime. For a fleet running recent vehicles from supported manufacturers, that removes the install question completely.

It is a genuine structural advantage and it is also narrow. Older vehicles, mixed marques, trailers and anything with no telematics unit from the factory still need a device fitted. Ask which specific model years and manufacturers are covered before treating it as the plan rather than a partial one.

How the Two Platforms Are Packaged

Geotab publishes two plans. GO Core covers live map and trip history, alerts, basic routing and dispatch, maintenance scheduling by odometer and engine hours, inspections, work orders, basic IFTA and fuel economy, MyGeotab dashboards and access to more than 400 Marketplace integrations. GO Plan adds AI safety scoring and collision risk, full hours of service and ELD with tachograph support, predictive maintenance and fault diagnostics, complete fuel and idling insight, EV analytics, CARB and ESG reporting, advanced routing and video telematics.

Verizon Connect publishes no tiers. It sells the Reveal platform and then lists add-ons by category: integrated video with AI dashcams, asset and equipment tracking, compliance modules, field service management, fuel card integration, OEM integrations and commercial roadside assistance. Its see plans and pricing link is a form rather than a table.

Two tiers makes the decision binary and fast. A category list makes it flexible and impossible to estimate. Neither is better in the abstract, but they suit different buyers, and a small team without a procurement function will find the binary version far easier to run.

Where Each One Is the Stronger Answer

Geotab suits an organisation that wants predictable year-one cost, deep integration into existing systems, and the option to add specialised capability from a marketplace rather than by moving tier. The installer network and the documentation depth point at operations that fit their own devices at scale.

Verizon Connect suits an organisation with a heavy unpowered-asset problem, a modern vehicle mix that can use OEM activation, or an existing relationship that makes the commercial conversation simpler. Its asset page is the most specific we read on what it expects to track, down to dumpsters, tanks and reefer trailers.

Both still price and think in vehicles. If most of what you need to find has no engine, both sell you a line beside a vehicle-first product, and asset-first platforms quote multi-year batteries at one fix a day instead of per-vehicle rates. Price that separately.

Get Three Numbers Before the Second Meeting

Ask what the term is, what the installation costs per vehicle including downtime, and what happens to committed units if the fleet shrinks. Geotab answers the middle one publicly and Verizon Connect tells you it exists, which between them is more than most of this category offers.

With those three answers a quote becomes comparable, and the demo stops being the thing that sets the agenda. Our roundup of six fleet tracking companies ranked by what they publish puts both in context, and what GPS tracking actually costs covers the recurring charges behind the headline rate.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Which one is cheaper?

Neither publishes a rate, so nobody can answer that honestly from public sources. What is public is the hardware position, and it differs sharply. Geotab states hardware is included in both plans with no upfront device cost and no installation fee. Verizon Connect states that professional installation comes at an extra cost, without naming a figure, and says nothing about whether the device itself is bundled.

Does Verizon Connect need a device in every vehicle?

Not always. Its hardware-free OEM integrations activate tracking over the air for compatible vehicles with no device to fit and no installation downtime. For a fleet of recent model-year vehicles from supported manufacturers, that removes the install question entirely. Older or mixed fleets still need the wired unit.

How many plans does Geotab sell?

Two: the GO Core Plan at entry level and the GO Plan for the full platform, with a legacy Base plan referenced for existing customers. Verizon Connect publishes no tier names at all on its fleet pages, selling the Reveal platform with add-ons by category instead.

Which is better for trailers and unpowered equipment?

Verizon Connect is the more explicit of the two. It names a wired EAT for powered assets and a battery EAT-B for non-powered ones, quoted at up to thirteen years of location updates under stated optimal conditions, and lists the equipment it expects to cover down to dumpsters, generators and tanks. Geotab runs asset trackers on the same platform as the GO device but stays generic about the hardware on its solutions page.

Can I change plans without swapping devices?

Geotab says yes explicitly: moving from GO Core to GO Plan is requested from the MyGeotab portal with no hardware swap required. Verizon Connect makes no equivalent public statement, and because its add-ons include video, a change that adds cameras will mean new hardware whatever the contract says.

More head to heads