One Step GPS vs Samsara: A Published Rate Against a Sales Process
These two are rarely on the same shortlist and they should be. One tells you the price on its homepage. The other will not until you have had a demo.
September 2, 2026 · 8 min read
These two rarely appear on the same shortlist, which is a shame, because the comparison exposes the thing that actually separates this market. One Step GPS puts $13.95 a month in its own page title alongside no contracts and no equipment cost. Samsara publishes six named packages and not a single price.
Both sell into a market projected to grow from USD 30.1 billion in 2026 to USD 122.3 billion by 2035, and both track vehicles and unpowered assets. The difference is not really capability. It is who the commercial model is designed for.
That matters because most buyers discover it late. A small operator spends three weeks in a Samsara process before learning the term is measured in years, or a large operation adopts a flat-rate product and finds there is no reporting depth to answer the questions its board asks.
| Feature | One Step GPS | Samsara |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | $13.95 per month | None |
| Contract | States none, no cancellation fee | Not stated |
| Hardware | Free, returned on cancellation | Not stated |
| Named plans | None published | Six packages |
| Driver safety and video | Not a focus | Core, two dedicated packages |
| Unpowered assets | Battery and solar trackers | Dedicated gateway plus tags |
| Risk reversal | 100-day money back | None published |
Read from each vendor’s own pages on 18 September 2026. Samsara figures quoted in the text are third-party reported contract data, not quotes from the company.
What the Flat Rate Buys and What It Skips
$13.95 a month with no term changes the shape of the decision rather than just the size of it. There is no committed-unit problem, because there is no commitment. A fleet that shrinks in February stops paying in February. A seasonal operation can run twelve trackers in summer and four in winter without renegotiating anything.
The hardware is free and returnable, which is a loan rather than a gift, and the practical effect is that the exit is clean: send the devices back, stop paying, keep nothing. For an operator who has been burned by a long telematics agreement before, that is often the whole argument.
What it skips is depth. There is no published plan structure, no stated battery figures per device, and the product does not attempt the safety-coaching and video-review workflows that are the reason large fleets buy Samsara in the first place.
What the Sales Process Buys
Samsara’s six packages are Safety Premier, Safety Enterprise, Telematics Premier, Telematics Enterprise, Standard Visibility and Advanced Tracking. That structure exists because large operations buy safety and telematics as separate decisions, often on separate budgets and timelines, and want to size each independently.
The depth is real. Thirty-plus risk detections with context and patterns, weather risk visibility, AI insight across the fuel lifecycle, comprehensive TMS integrations, proactive maintenance planning, and an asset line that runs from powered gateways to environmental monitors and tags.
The cost of that is a process. No rate is published, no term is published, and the lead path asks for fleet size before it says anything about money. On a five-vehicle operation that process is longer than the payback period.
The Two Numbers That Decide It
Ask how many vehicles you run, and whether driver behaviour is a board-level problem or a nice-to-have.
Under roughly twenty vehicles with no camera requirement, the arithmetic favours the published rate heavily. Twenty units at $13.95 is $3,348 a year with no term, no hardware cost and no negotiation, and the equivalent enterprise agreement carries reported per-vehicle rates roughly double that before hardware.
Above that, or where insurance, litigation exposure or a safety programme is driving the project, the reporting and video layer starts to justify the price and the process. A fleet that can evidence a measurable reduction in incidents is buying something a flat-rate tracker cannot supply.
Where Both Leave a Gap
Neither publishes a stated battery life per device on the pages we read, which is the single most important specification for anything without an engine. Samsara lists an unpowered asset gateway without a duration, and One Step GPS lists battery and solar trackers without one.
If unpowered assets are the majority of what you need to locate, that gap is the thing to press on in the first call. Ask for the figure and the reporting interval it assumes, because a battery claim without a duty cycle is not a specification.
The Switching Cost Nobody Prices
A flat-rate product with no term is easy to leave, and that is worth real money on a first deployment. Devices go back, billing stops, and the only loss is the fitting time. A multi-year agreement makes the same decision expensive: committed units continue billing, and the data history usually stays with the vendor rather than travelling with you.
Ask both what happens to your location history if you leave. On a fleet that has run for two years, that history is the evidence for insurance claims, disputes and utilisation decisions, and finding out it is not exportable at the point of exit is a poor time to discover it.
The same question applies to hardware. Free devices from either vendor are loans, so an exit means a collection exercise across every vehicle and yard. On twenty units that is an afternoon. On four hundred it is a project, and it belongs in the business case at the start rather than at the end.
Size the Fleet, Then Pick the Model
Write down the vehicle count, the trailer count, and whether anyone has asked you for driver-safety evidence in the last year. Those three answers point at one of these two products with very little ambiguity, and they do it before you have sat in a demo.
A published rate is not proof of value and a sales process is not proof of quality. They are two different commercial models aimed at two different buyers, and the mistake is picking on brand rather than on which buyer you are. Our roundup of six fleet tracking companies ranked by what they publish covers the wider field, and what a tracker subscription actually costs breaks down the recurring side.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
How much does One Step GPS cost?
$13.95 a month, published on its own homepage, with no lock-in contract and no cancellation fees. The device is supplied free and must be returned to end service. Of seven fleet platforms we checked on 18 September 2026, it was the only one putting a figure on its own site.
How much does Samsara cost?
Samsara publishes no rate anywhere, including on its own plans page, which lists six packages with no prices attached. Customers and third-party reviews commonly report around $27 to $33 per vehicle per month on a three-year term, plus hardware reported between $99 and $548 per vehicle. Treat those as reported contract data rather than a quote.
Is One Step GPS good enough for a real fleet?
For location, geofencing and basic fleet visibility on a small to mid-size operation, yes. It covers plug-in, hardwired, battery and solar devices, so a mixed estate of vans, trailers and equipment fits one account. What it does not attempt is the deep safety, video coaching and integration layer Samsara is built around.
Does either one offer a free trial?
Neither. One Step GPS offers a 100-day money-back guarantee, which is a refund policy rather than a trial and should not be counted as one when comparing risk. Samsara offers no equivalent published guarantee.
Which handles trailers and equipment better?
Both cover unpowered assets. Samsara sells a dedicated unpowered asset gateway plus environmental monitors and asset tags inside a broader platform. One Step GPS lists battery and solar trackers for trailers and construction equipment on the same $13.95 rate. For a small fleet the flat rate is simpler; for hundreds of mixed assets Samsara's reporting depth starts to matter.