Samsara vs Verizon Connect: Six Named Packages Against a List of Add-Ons
One structures the product and hides the price. The other hides both and tells you the truth about installation. Neither will quote you before a demo.
September 10, 2026 · 8 min read
Samsara and Verizon Connect are both enterprise answers to the same question, and both sit on shortlists where the feature grids have already stopped separating anything. Both operate in a market projected to grow from USD 30.1 billion in 2026 to USD 122.3 billion by 2035, and both sell vehicles, drivers, compliance and assets on one platform.
Neither publishes a rate. What they do publish differs enough to be useful: one gives you a clear package structure with no numbers, the other gives you no structure and one unusually candid admission about cost.
The result for a buyer is that neither quote can be benchmarked until you have both, and both processes open with a demo and a fleet-size question. Knowing how each one is built is the only way to shorten that.
| Feature | Samsara | Verizon Connect |
|---|---|---|
| Published price | None | None |
| Product structure | Six named packages | Reveal plus add-ons by category |
| Install cost | Not stated | States professional install costs extra |
| No-hardware option | Not offered | OEM integrations, over the air |
| Unpowered asset hardware | Unpowered gateway, asset tags | EAT wired, EAT-B battery |
| Stated asset battery | Not published | Up to 13 years, optimal conditions |
| Free trial | No | No |
Read from each vendor’s own pages on 18 September 2026. Not stated means no public claim either way.
Packaging Tells You Who the Product Is For
Samsara publishes six packages: Safety Premier, Safety Enterprise, Telematics Premier, Telematics Enterprise, Standard Visibility and Advanced Tracking. Splitting safety from telematics is a deliberate signal that it expects those to be separate budgets with separate sponsors, which is how large organisations actually buy.
Verizon Connect publishes no tiers at all. It sells Reveal and then a catalogue of add-ons, segmenting its site by audience instead: small business, mid market, enterprise, government. That structure suits a buyer who wants to assemble exactly what they need and frustrates one who wants to estimate before calling.
Neither approach is better. Six packages makes fitting precise and creates six chances to buy the wrong one. A catalogue makes fitting flexible and makes budgeting impossible without sales involvement.
The Installation Admission
Verizon Connect states in its own FAQ that self-installation is cheaper but riskier, and that professional installation comes at an extra cost. No figure is attached. Publishing that at all is more candid than most of this market manages, and it names a line item that quietly decides a first-year budget.
Samsara says nothing either way about installation cost, and lists pre-delivery installation only as a navigation link. Reported third-party figures put its hardware between $99 and $548 per vehicle depending on whether dashcams are included, which is a range wide enough to change a business case on its own.
Neither silence nor candour tells you which is cheaper. What the candour does is let you ask a specific question early instead of discovering the answer in a contract.
The Structural Advantage Verizon Connect Has
Hardware-free OEM integrations activate tracking over the air on compatible vehicles, with, in the company’s own words, zero hardware installs and no vehicle installation downtime. For a fleet running recent vehicles from supported manufacturers, that eliminates fitting, downtime and the tamper question in one move.
It is genuinely narrow. Older vehicles, mixed marques, trailers and anything without factory telematics still need a device. The first question to ask is which manufacturers and model years qualify, because the answer decides whether this is your deployment plan or a footnote to it.
Where Samsara Is the Stronger Buy
Safety is the clearest case. Two of its six packages are dedicated to it, running from in-cab coaching, alerts and a safety inbox up to thirty-plus risk detections with context and patterns plus weather risk visibility. For an operation where insurance exposure or an incident history is driving the project, that depth is the product.
Integration breadth is the second case. Telematics Enterprise names comprehensive TMS integrations explicitly, and for a business whose transport management system is the system of record, that connection matters more than the tracking.
The price of both is a three-year commitment in most reported contracts, which is the longest standard term among the major platforms and the single largest risk on a fleet whose size is uncertain.
Where Verizon Connect Is the Stronger Buy
Unpowered assets, by some distance. Its asset page is the most specific we read anywhere: powered plant including backhoes, excavators, forklifts and telehandlers, and non-powered assets including trailers, flatbeds, dry vans, reefers, containers, dumpsters, generators and tanks, with named hardware for each class.
The thirteen-year EAT-B figure is the longest published battery claim we found in this category, and the optimal-conditions footnote is a caveat worth pressing rather than a disqualification. For a business whose problem is mostly things without engines, that is the more serious product line.
Bring the Asset Count to the First Call
Split what you own into vehicles, powered plant and unpowered assets, and count each. If vehicles dominate and safety is the driver, Samsara’s packaging maps to your problem and you can ask for a named package rather than a demo of everything. If unpowered assets dominate, Verizon Connect has the more specific hardware answer and the honest install note.
Either way, ask for the term, the install cost per vehicle and what happens to committed units before the second meeting. Our roundup of six fleet tracking companies ranked by what they publish puts both in context, and seven asset tracking companies for equipment with no engine covers the unpowered side properly.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Which one publishes a price?
Neither. We read both sets of pages on 18 September 2026. Samsara's plans page lists six packages with no figures. Verizon Connect's see plans and pricing link is an on-page anchor that opens a form rather than a table. The only dollar amounts on either site are customer savings claims.
What is Verizon Connect Reveal?
Reveal is the platform name. Rather than tiers, Verizon Connect sells Reveal plus add-ons by category: integrated video with AI dashcams, asset and equipment tracking, compliance modules, field service management, fuel card integration, hardware-free OEM integrations and commercial roadside assistance. Segmentation on the site is by audience size rather than by package.
Which is better for unpowered assets?
Verizon Connect is more explicit about it. It names two devices, a wired EAT for powered assets and a battery EAT-B for non-powered ones quoted at up to thirteen years under stated optimal conditions, and lists what it expects to track down to dumpsters, tanks and reefer trailers. Samsara sells an unpowered asset gateway plus asset tags inside two named packages.
Can either one track a vehicle without fitting hardware?
Verizon Connect can, on compatible vehicles. Its hardware-free OEM integrations activate over the air with no device and no installation downtime. Samsara publishes no equivalent, so every vehicle needs a gateway fitted. On a fleet of recent supported models that difference removes an entire workstream.
How long are the contracts?
Neither states a term publicly. Customers commonly report three years on Samsara, the longest standard commitment among the major platforms. Verizon Connect publishes nothing either way. Ask in the first call, and ask specifically what happens to committed units if the fleet shrinks mid-term.